

# Proceedings of the Meeting of the Leeds City Council held at the Civic Hall, Leeds on Thursday, 22nd May, 2008

**PRESENT:** The Lord Mayor Councillor Brian Cleasby in the Chair

WARD WARD

ADEL & WHARFEDALE CALVERLEY & FARSLEY

Barry John Anderson Andrew Carter
John Leslie Carter Joseph William Marjoram
Clive Fox Frank Robinson

ALWOODLEY CHAPEL ALLERTON

Ronald David Feldman Eileen Taylor
Ruth Feldman Mohammed Rafique
Peter Mervyn Harrand Jane Dowson

ARDSLEY & ROBIN HOOD CITY & HUNSLET

Karen Renshaw Elizabeth Nash Jack Dunn Patrick Davey Lisa Mulherin Mohammed Igbal

ARMLEY CROSS GATES & WHINMOOR

Alison Natalie Kay Lowe Suzi Armitage
James McKenna Pauleen Grahame
Janet Harper Peter John Gruen

BEESTON & HOLBECK FARNLEY & WORTLEY

Angela Gabriel David Blackburn
Adam Ogilvie Ann Blackburn
David Congreve

BRAMLEY & STANNINGLEY GARFORTH & SWILLINGTON

Angela Denise Atkinson Andrea McKenna
Ted Hanley Mark Dobson
Neil Taggart Thomas Murray

BURMANTOFTS & RICHMOND HILL GIPTON & HAREHILLS

Ralph Pryke Alan Leonard Taylor Richard Brett Arif Hussain Roger Harington

#### **GUISELEY & RAWDON**

Graham Latty Stuart Andrew John Bale

#### **HAREWOOD**

Ann Castle Rachael Procter Alec Shelbrooke

#### **HEADINGLEY**

Jamie Matthews James John Monaghan Martin Hamilton

#### **HORSFORTH**

Christopher Townsley Andrew Barker Brian Cleasby

#### **HYDE PARK & WOODHOUSE**

Penny Ewens Kabeer Hussain Linda Valerie Rhodes-Clayton

#### **KILLINGBECK & SEACROFT**

Graham Hyde Veronica Morgan Brian Michael Selby

## **KIPPAX & METHLEY**

John Keith Parker James Lewis Keith Ivor Wakefield

#### **KIRKSTALL**

Lucinda Joy Yeadon John Anthony Illingworth Bernard Peter Atha

# **MIDDLETON PARK**

Geoffrey Driver Judith Blake Debra Ann Coupar

#### **MOORTOWN**

Mark Daniel Harris Brenda Lancaster Richard Harker

#### **MORLEY NORTH**

Robert Finnigan Robert William Gettings Thomas Leadley

#### **MORLEY SOUTH**

Judith Elliot Terrence Grayshon Christopher James Beverley

#### **OTLEY & YEADON**

Graham Peter Kirkland Colin Campbell Ryk Downes

#### **PUDSEY**

Josephine Patricia Jarosz Richard Alwyn Lewis Mick Coulson

#### **ROTHWELL**

Donald Michael Wilson Steve Smith Barry Stewart Golton

#### **ROUNDHAY**

Matthew Lobley Valerie Kendall Paul Wadsworth

#### **TEMPLE NEWSAM**

William Schofield Hyde Jacqueline Langdale Michael Lyons

#### **WEETWOOD**

Ben Chastney Susan Bentley Judith Mara Chapman

#### **WETHERBY**

Gerald Wilkinson Alan James Lamb John Michael Procter

#### 1 Election of Lord Mayor

It was moved by Councillor A Carter, seconded by Councillor D Blackburn, supported by Councillors Parker, Townsley and Elliott and

**RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY –** That Councillor Frank Robinson be elected the Lord Mayor of the City of Leeds to hold office until the date of the Annual meeting of the Council in 2009.

Councillor Robinson made the declaration of acceptance of office and took the Chair.

# 2 Vote of Thanks to Retiring Lord Mayor

Councillor Lancaster moved a vote of thanks to the retiring Lord Mayor, Councillor Cleasby. This was seconded by Councillor Iqbal, supported by Councillors Bale, Grayshon and A Blackburn.

## 3 Deputy Lord Mayor

It was moved by the Lord Mayor seconded by Councillor Hamilton and

**RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY –** That Councillor Gerald Wilkinson be appointed Deputy Lord Mayor of the City of Leeds to hold office until the date of the Annual meeting of the Council in 2009.

#### 4 Minutes

It was moved by Councillor Hamilton seconded by Councillor Gruen and

**RESOLVED –** That the minutes of the Council meeting held on 9<sup>th</sup> April 2008 be approved as a correct record.

#### 5 Election of Leader

It was moved by Councillor Hamilton seconded by Councillor J Procter and

**RESOLVED –** To elect as leader Councillor Brett for the period 22<sup>nd</sup> May 2008 to 30<sup>th</sup> November 2008 and Councillor A Carter for the period commencing 1<sup>st</sup> December 2008 to the Annual Meeting in 2009

#### 6 Amendments to the Constitution

It was moved by Councillor Hamilton seconded by Councillor Gruen and

**RESOLVED –** That the recommendations of the Corporate Governance and Audit Committee with regard to amendments to the Constitution as detailed in the report of the Chief Democratic Services Officer be approved.

# 7 Establishment of Committees and Appropriate Terms of Reference It was moved by Councillor Hamilton seconded by Councillor Gruen and

**RESOLVED** – That Committees be established having Terms of Reference as detailed in Schedule (8)(a) to the agenda subject to an amended introductory page as circulated at the meeting.

## 8 Membership of Committees, Boards and Panels

It was moved by Councillor Hamilton seconded by Councillor Gruen and

#### **RESOLVED -**

(a) That appointments to Committees, Boards and Panels as detailed in Schedule 8(b)(i) as circulated at the meeting be approved, subject to amendments to replace the name of Councillor G Hyde with that of Councillor

Dowson on the Licensing and Regulatory Panel, that of Councillor Illingworth with that of Councillor E Taylor on the Scrutiny Board (Adult Social Care) and that of Councillor E Taylor with that of Councillor Illingworth on the Scrutiny Board (Health); alternative arrangements in accordance with Section 17 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1979 being applicable to this schedule.

(b) That the Assistant Chief Executive (Corporate Governance) be authorised, in consultation with appropriate Whips, to change appointments now made, during the period between this meeting and the next ordinary meeting of Council.

## 9 Membership of the Standards Committee

It was moved by Councillor Hamilton seconded by Councillor Gruen and

**RESOLVED** – That appointments to the Standards Committee as detailed in Schedule 8(b)(ii) circulated at the meeting be approved.

## 10 Appointments to Outside Organisations

It was moved by Councillor Hamilton seconded by Councillor Gruen and

**RESOLVED** – That appointments to outside organisations as detailed in Schedule 8(c) circulated at the meeting be approved.

## 11 Scheme of Delegation

It was moved by Councillor Hamilton seconded by Councillor Gruen and

**RESOLVED –** That the Officer Delegation Scheme (Council (Non-Executive) Functions) as detailed in Schedule 9 be approved.

## 12 Calendar of Meetings

It was moved by Councillor Hamilton seconded by Councillor Gruen and

**RESOLVED –** That the Calendar of Meetings as contained in Schedule 10 to the agenda be approved.

#### 13 Executive Functions

It was moved by Councillor Hamilton seconded by Councillor Gruen and

**RESOLVED** – That the list presented by the Leader setting out the arrangements for the discharge of executive functions detailed in Schedule 11 and on the amended page circulated at the meeting be noted.

Council rose at 7.30 pm